Megan Rapinoe, USA and Cristiane

The eighth running of the FIFA Women’s World Cup has ended with USA lifting the trophy for a fourth time.

Their triumph, which came courtesy of a 2-0 win over the Netherlands in Lyon, France, secures their place as the record holders for most wins of the Women's World Cup.

But that was by no means the only record broken (and certainly not the only one broken by the all-conquering USA team) during this summer’s festival of football. 

Women's World Cup USA winners

USA dominance

Not only did the Americans win the tournament, they also were responsible for most of the record breaking (with all three co-captains, Alex Morgan, Carli Lloyd and Megan Rapinoe, achieving records).

They set the tone in their opening fixture, a 13-0 victory over Thailand which set a new record for the highest margin of victory, two better than the 11-0 win record by Germany over Argentina in 2007.

Women's World Cup biggest victory

Alex Morgan’s haul of five goals during the game helping her equal the record for most goals by an individual in a match, sharing the record with former USA striker Michelle Akers who bagged five in a 7-0 win over Chinese Taipei in the 1991 quarter-final.

Women's World Cup Alex Morgan

In their following game against Chile, veteran striker Carli Lloyd set a new record for most consecutive Women's World Cup Finals games scored in by an individual (6), having found the net in the 13-0 win over Thailand as well as her team’s last four matches of the 2015 tournament. 

Women's World Cup Carli Lloyd

During the final itself, Megan Rapinoe became the oldest goalscorer in a Women's World Cup Final at the age of 34 years 2 days; her 61st minute penalty allowing her to break out her iconic celebration. Her goal capped off a memorable tournament, with Rapinoe also ending up with the Golden Ball (for best player) and Golden Boot (six goals, three assists in 428 minutes).

Megan Rapinoe Women's World Cup

Manager Jill Ellis also picked up the record for most Women’s World Cups won by a manager as she took home her second winner’s medal.

Women's World Cup Jill Ellis

USA’s unbeaten tournament means they leave France with the record for the most consecutive wins by a team with 12, a run which started in the group stages of the 2015 Women’s World Cup in Canada.

Other records

Two other records were set during the 2019 Women's World Cup were shared between two nations.

Marta scored in her fifth World Cup (with goals against Australia and Italy on 13 June and 18 June respectively) to achieve the most Women's World Cup Finals tournaments scored in by a player

Women's World Cup Christine Sinclair and Marta

Two days after her goal against Italy, Canada’s Christine Sinclair equalled Marta by grabbing her only goal of the tournament in her side’s 2-1 defeat to the Netherlands.

Meanwhile Brazilian striker Cristiane’s hat-trick against Jamaica on 9 June secured her record for the oldest player to score a hat-trick, aged 34 years 25 days.

Women's World Cup Cristiane